14 Eylül 2012 Cuma

Objects In Your Mirror May Be Closer Than They Appear

To contact us Click HERE



I'm just mystified by the stupid.

Yesterday evening, about 7:10 p.m., I was waiting at the 15th St. traffic light, in the middle lane of westbound "W" street, prepared to enter the on-ramp for westbound Highway 50, headed to Davis. (Both left and middle lanes allow entry to the on-ramp, but only the left lane allows turns onto 15th Street).

All of a sudden, I see the backing lights on the car in front me. The driver calmly and deliberately accelerated backwards, and plowed into my car.

We pull to the side of the street. The driver, male, early 20's, and his passenger, female, early 20's exit their car. I exit mine.

"Why did you back up?", I ask. "I wanted to turn left," he answered. "Didn't you see me behind you?" I asked. "I thought you were further back," he answered.

Like maybe he couldn't check his rear view mirror first, before backing up.

"Are you all right?" his companion asked me. She looked a bit flustered - breathing deeper than usual.

What a passive-aggressive sort of question!

"Well, you were in the car too," I answered. The cars didn't hit hard enough to cause injury." Pointing out the obvious, I thought.

When our cars separated, my front license plate assembly got caught in their bumper, and was torn from the car. Otherwise, no real harm. Except that I expect the Universe's moron index leapt up.

We exchanged driver and insurance information, but didn't call the cops.




Hiç yorum yok:

Yorum Gönder